State Government

Custom Search

U.S. Government:

Government Structure

Federal Government

State Government

Local Government


Social Studies Videos

Social Studies Main Index


The structure and responsibilities of the state governments are defined by the Constitution.

On this Page:

State Government

Top of Page

State Government

The state government is based on the Constitution. The Constitution states that any powers not specifically given to the federal government are the responsibility of the state. The details of a state government's structure and responsibilities are defined by state constitutions. The state constitutions differ from state to state, but they are all similar to, and do not contradict the U.S. Constitution.

Like the federal government, the state government also has three branches:

  • Executive Branch
  • Legislative Branch
  • Judicial Branch

The Executive Branch is headed by the governor. The governor and advisors are responsible for carrying out the laws passed by the legislative branch, and are also responsible for proposing new laws.

The Legislative Branch consists of the State House of Representatives and the State Senate. They are responsible for making laws that relate to state matters.

The Judicial Branch consists of a hierarch of courts including the State Supreme Court, Appellate Courts, District Courts and Municipal Courts. State courts hear cases relating to state law. They are responsible for explaining the laws, applying the laws, settling disagreements and deciding who is guilty of breaking a state law.



Books on the United States Government

Top of Page



Other links on the United States Government

Top of Page


Top of Page

Copyright © 1998-2012 Kidport